Poets logo

My Only Choice

Only You

By John M Edwards JrPublished about a year ago 1 min read
5
My Only Choice
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

Hey Babe,

You’re my only choice. No other one will I choose. If I can’t have you, I’d just rather lose.

When I was younger I used to line women up in my mind, numbering one thru five. If number one didn’t come through on time, I’ll just go to the next one in line, but with time I have mature.

Knowing there is only one that should stay on my mind and that one is you, and with you I’ve decided to remain true.

In times past just relying on my mind, many have made me a fool. This time my Heavenly Father knowing my heart decided it was time for me to no longer be a mark. He took the lead and picked you out for me, and after examining you I begin to believe. Now I can see why you were meant for me.

I’ve known you for a while, and I’ve always liked your style, but even though I was only drinking wine, my eyes were blind to the fact that God’s ways and thoughts are always higher than our ways and thoughts. That’s why without God’s intervention, your thoughts and my thoughts would have never understood God’s way of making the way for you and me to come together. Now I must wait for God to begin to show you what he’s shown me. If not all this will be a shock. In the meantime I patiently wait, as the clock goes tick tock.

Forever loving you Babe

John

love poems
5

About the Creator

John M Edwards Jr

Born in San Francisco, CA. Son of a preacher. After committing my life to Jesus Christ, I noticed the letter I wrote to God had rhyming lines. That became my first poem.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    This was such a beautiful and touching love letter, well done :)

  • Rene Petersabout a year ago

    Beautiful epistolary

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Glad you found your soul mate great entry into this challenge

  • Lovely epistolary

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.