Poets logo

My Mother’s Veiny Hands

By A. Skillings

By A. SkillingsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
My Mother’s Veiny Hands
Photo by Jake Thacker on Unsplash

Cylindrical

Translucent purple And green

Omnipresent

After school hours

Grabbing the shoulder

Of the blue eyed

Choice

I was too naive

To distinguish from good

I used to pinch

The skin

While she spoke to the others

Over old decaf,

Coarse with escaped grounds

About husbands

Aggressive teachers

And bullying

It was a pastime

For me

And all I remember

Of those conversations

Is loose skin

In between my index, middle finger

And thumb

An extension of her

So bonded

It was as if

We were in the wild

Our entire lives

Picking bugs

Off of each other

In the morning hours.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

A. Skillings

Writing poetry, musings and essays to make sense out of the world.

Happily married, cancer survivor, self care addict, retail worker by day, Netflix binger by night. Always searching for my next favorite book.

“Don’t Try”- Charles Bukowski

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.