Poets logo

My Mother's Hands

The safest place in the world

By Bugsy WattsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo of my mother's hand and my own

I know everything about my mother’s hands.

I remember their touch now, as if they are

cradling me,

the way they did before I could walk,

lifting me up,

the way they did when I fell and ripped a hole in my pants,

holding tight,

the way they did on our way to school,

patting my back,

the way they did when I graduated,

hugging me,

the way they did when I moved out,

surrounding me,

the way they did when I finally, finally came home.

They are strong hands,

they are rough hands,

they are hands that work and care.

I hope one day my hands will look like hers.

To be held by those hands means to be safe.

No matter what happens,

if those hands hold me,

all of my fear fades.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Bugsy Watts

Got bit by the writing bug.

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/bugsywattspoetry/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.