Poets logo

My morning coffee

Clearly not thinking of you

By Lucia Carretero SierraPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

I clearly knew,

then,

when I drank that last sip of coffee,

that it would be cold.

I mean,

it had to be.

The memory of the first sip,

God that first sip,

had already faded.

Most certainly,

I was already dreaming of the next first sip.

How could I not?

The first sip is always too hot.

Your tongue,

your lips,

your throat,

Just there, waiting to be burnt.

And while, the sips to come are the most enjoyable yet,

You soon realise that the end is coming

The cup is not as warm anymore,

not as heavy.

And the dread, of knowing its done, and the cup, just there, looking at you from the table, excited for that last bit of loving,

That sip,

Is it worth it?

You know it will be a shiver delivered to your insides,

Yet your mouth cannot believe the gut wrenching feeling,

the crush,

the sharp sensation of loss,

as if somehow, your senses could have still felt hope that your logic might have been wrong, and no, the last sip wouldnt be so cold.

The last time we fucked, it was seven degrees outside, but you were sweating.

I licked the moisture of our past from your chest,

And I knew, right there,

That nothing would ever taste so salty again

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Lucia Carretero Sierra

I romantizise my life out of proportion and then write about it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.