Poets logo

My Morning Coffee

Serving Size: XL Comfort

By Annie Edwards Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
4
My Morning Coffee
Photo by Sixteen Miles Out on Unsplash

The enticing aroma of coffee beans

fill my nostrils,

much like any other morning.

Yet,

today will be different…

I will patiently wait for the end result.

I will savor the process.

I will be present.

By Najib Kalil on Unsplash

I begin to relate this concept to life.

There really is beauty in the journey/process,

not merely the destination/end result…

IF we are patient enough to wait for it.

By Clay Banks on Unsplash

As I allow it time to cool off,

I gratefully await the feeling

of it’s warmth against my throat,

it’s bold flavor as it hits my tastebuds,

and it’s richness as it nurtures my soul.

By Ricardo Gomez Angel on Unsplash

I step outside,

cradling my mug in my hand,

and the freshly risen sun greets me.

An everyday occurrence,

yet this time,

I will allow myself to actually SEE it,

FEEL it,

EXPERIENCE it…

It reminds me of how beautiful the world actually is, even when it seems quite ugly.

It reminds me that some things are constant, regardless of their various forms they may take.

By Max van den Oetelaar on Unsplash

The feeling of the cool, yet subtle wind

as it meets my breath

is crisp and refreshing…

and this time,

I FULLY allow myself to inhale.

And exhale.

I instantly feel more alive;

more refreshed...

What a beautiful reminder of how wonderful it is to actually be alive.

By Ricardo Gomez Angel on Unsplash

I gaze around in awe at the scenery;

a daily view,

yet beautiful nonetheless.

Oh how I have taken it for granted…

But not today…

The array of colorful of leaves

that adorn both the trees and the ground

are captivating.

Yet, their season will come to an end.

This is all just part of the process of life.

It reminds me that change is inevitable, necessary, and can be such a beautiful process.

This peaceful morning is filled with a silence so breathtaking.

All that can be heard

is the beautiful melody of chirping birds,

and it brings me peace.

It silences my mind momentarily

as I fully take it in.

Silence can so eloquently articulate a message…

one heard loud and clear, unless other noise overshadow it.

By Pip Christie on Unsplash

Who needs millions of dollars when you have a cup of coffee, a cool autumn day, and a genuine appreciation of life?

No amount of wealth can make you live that comfortably.

inspirationalnature poetrylove poems
4

About the Creator

Annie Edwards

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.