Poets logo

My Mind is Louder Than a Smoke Detector

By Natasha Burton

By Natasha BurtonPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

Reading a book, lying facing the ceiling fan, looking at the ocean, standing in an empty elevator.

Anxious emotion, frustration, embarassment, sadness, nothing.

Flickering lights, strobe lights, bed side lamp, a lighthouse.

Iminent distraction, unwanted referrals, limitless imagination, continuous detriment.

I’ve been told i feel too deeply or not at all, that i take the weight of others along side mine or use it as a substitute.

I’m either selfish or to involved and i don’t know if its possible to find the inbetween.

I want to stop thinking, stop spinning, stop stressing.

Please cease blaring your sirens, i know there is smoke but it belongs here.

I will put the fire out but please discontinue the ringing in my ear.

Don’t make me get a ladder to remove your batteries so i can purposely ignore you.

I want everything emptied by the time i get back.

No astray books or cds or clothes are to be left behind.

Please remember to take your ashtray with you.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Natasha Burton

I’ve always had a passion for poetry, internal monologues and short stories! I hope you all enjoy what I produce, feedback is greatly appreciated :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.