Poets logo

My Memories Reign Supreme

While the years disappeared

By Colleen Millsteed Published 10 months ago 2 min read
3
Image courtesy of Pixabay

I cast my mind back to the precious memories of the days of our youth,

When life wasn’t as daunting and the end possibilities so near,

Not recognising that life is short, that we could lose it all,

Dancing with dreams and wishes, laughing in the face of fear.

💜

We believed that to love was enough, the obsession of lust divine,

A simple holiday on a little touch of paradise with the weather fair,

The crystal clear blue of the sky deepening on the horizon,

The cresting waves of the ocean simulating the emotions and care.

💜

The kindness of a loving heart woke me from my lazy slumber,

Brightened my future with promises, love and the tenderness of heart,

The wind whispered in my ears of the glory that was ours,

Taking it for granted until we faced the end in which we part.

💜

Did I do you wrong? The silly girl I was back then,

The horrid mess of unfinished emotions, wrangling their need,

Broken irreparably by a past of pain, suffering and torment,

Causing me to make the decisions that saw us forever bleed.

💜

We moved on in opposite directions, building a bridge that couldn’t be spanned,

I made the decision to cut the ties that tethered you within my heart,

Minutes was all it took to realise my utter foolishness,

But the end was gone and we were destined to be forever apart.

💜

Your memories haunted the deepest chambers of my affection,

Torn from asunder because of the sacrilege of an oath,

I bled the horrors of my destiny, always wondering if we paid our dues,

Knowing I deserved the status of which you now loath.

💜

The years sailed across the horizon in that picturesque place I left you,

Knowing you’d replaced me and praying you were happy with your choice,

I heard your name whispered upon the breeze here and there,

And I’d listen intently, hoping to once more hear your voice.

💜

My memories reign supreme within the deepest depths of my mind,

The thoughts, dreams and hopes captured and frozen in time,

We were no more in reality, but within my memories we were indestructible,

And within we were forever young, in love and you were forever mine.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

inspirationalsad poetrylove poems
3

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    This was so relatable my friend! I felt every line deep in my bones! I loved this poem so much!

  • Incredibly relatable, though I never thought I was worthy of her. She was way out of my league. Of course, the same can be said (& often has) of the woman I married.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.