Poets logo

My Loving Secret

For thirty-five years I lived this life.

By Sam H ArnoldPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
My Loving Secret
Photo by Külli Kittus on Unsplash

Dear family,

As I sit down to write this letter,

My heart is heavy with the weight of a secret.

A truth that I've hidden for so long,

A part of myself that feels so wrong.

I am a gay, and I struggle each day,

To reconcile who I am with what others say.

They tell me it's a sin, that it's not natural or right,

But how can love between two consenting adults be a blight?

I've loved women for as long as I can remember,

But the fear of rejection makes me feel so much lesser.

I see the way society looks at us with disdain,

And I wonder if I'll ever find the courage to claim,

My identity and my love for who I choose,

Without fear of judgment or facing abuse.

I know it won't be easy, but I can't live a lie,

Pretending to be someone I'm not until the day I die.

I dream of a world where love is love,

And it's not defined by who we love.

Where being gay isn't something we hide,

And we're accepted for who we are inside.

Until that day, I'll keep writing these letters,

Hoping that someday things will get better.

That one day, I'll find the strength to be me,

And live my life openly and authentically.

Sincerely your daughter

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sam H Arnold

Writing stories to help, inspire and shock. For all my current writing projects click here - https://linktr.ee/samharnold

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.