Poets logo

My Lover

June Might End, But Our Stories Don't

By LibbyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
1

She brings comfort and softness

To my calloused shell.

Her Touch brings warmth and for a moment,

In her arms,

I am safe.

I can forget.

"You'll never know true love."

Degradations slipped in back pockets and whispered in ears

As we pass by.

But how can her Touch not be Love?

And how can the Love we have not be True?

I fell in love with silken black hair

That secretly shows auburn strands,

But only when tempted by whispers from the Sun.

As it slides between my fingertips,

I feel out of touch

From the taboo projections of our affections.

From the berating of peers

Who have had their fears met with fists and screams

Reminding them that their love is sinful.

Each obsidian strand makes up

The safety chains protecting us

From society's unforgiving grasp.

I fell in love with gentle chestnut eyes

That transports me into every moment in time we've had together -

Each Kiss, Touch, Laugh -

All encapsulated in orbs that squint and sparkle with every smile.

I can lose myself in the wonderous desert between her lashes,

Wandering towards mirages

And away from the consequences of our reality.

With every gentle blink

The sins of our love get washed away.

The desert is cleansed,

And when I look again,

We are free.

I fell in love with a woman,

But with every glance and every fearful moment

When we separate our hands

For the comfort of someone else - for the safety of ourselves.

These are the moments when I doubt.

I begin to question the gravity of our situation,

The reality of our future,

How long until our hands can touch again?

We are reminded Every Day that we will never understand True Love.

But how can her Touch - the touch

That makes me feel invincible in a world

That bets against their social deviants -

How can that Touch not be Love?

And how dare they tell us that the Love we share is not True?

love poems
1

About the Creator

Libby

An amateur writer that uses language to escape the real world and destress. I joined for a writing challenge and stayed for the community of writers who love sharing their stories as much as I do.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.