Poets logo

My lovely city - Lucknow, India

by Anshuman Kumar

By Anshuman KumarPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
My lovely city - Lucknow, India
Photo by Laurentiu Morariu on Unsplash

More than 40 years ago I was born in the lovely city of Lucknow in India

I was fortunate to live there for a few years before moving to other cities and eventually other countries.

Now, I live in Ottawa, Canada, which is no doubt a wonderful home

But my heart and my love will always be dear Lucknow.

Every three years I go and visit my city in India

Each time during my flight there I am bound to cry.

The euphoria I get when I arrive there is second to none

So many memories, so many sights.

Neighbours, relatives, friends, foes

Most of the people I knew growing up are still there.

I have so much love for my city that I can go on and on

But I will focus on one special memory that I shall always cherish.

In the summer of 2000 I visited Lucknow after nearly five years

My grandma joined my rest of the family to welcome me at the train station.

As my train arrived and set foot on the nice platform

My grandma rushed towards me and gave me a tight hug.

I held her lovingly and she started crying uncontrollably

I told her, ‘Dear Grandma, please don’t cry. I am here to stay with you for a few months.’

I also started weeping

Some people gathered nearby and thought I was some important person.

I told them, ‘Please don’t mind us; my grandma is elated that I am back for a while.’

Then when my relatives drove me to my grandma’s house in their car

I kept thinking to myself.

‘What a wonderful welcome! What a beautiful day! I am so happy to see grandma in my lovely city again.’

Whether it be in 2000 or the several times since then Lucknow has always welcomed me with open arms

I will always be indebted to her

‘O Lucknow, my dear Lucknow, when I take my last breaths I will remember you - wherever I am in the world you will always be my true home.’

Thank you forever.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Anshuman Kumar

I live and work in Canada and am originally from India. I am interested in movies, short stories, swimming, travel etc. Tips are definitely optional but are very welcome. Thank you for reading.

My email is [email protected]

Thanks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.