Poets logo

My love, my love

a poetic ode to the fecund earth

By Adriane GibersonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
My love, my love
Photo by Gabriel Jimenez on Unsplash

I want to grow a field of dahlias

as an hymn to the sun,

offer my bare-soled feet in a prayer

of gratitude to soil,

circumambulate the garden to ask

the spirit of water

to soothe, to smooth the roots of all the things

that grow within the depths.

I want to fall in deep love with the earth,

dig my fingers into

its dark humus, like the lover it is,

to lift them out again

after seeding, so I have black dirt nails.

I want to have wind-kissed

cheeks flush the way they do when aroused and

sated, on repeat, pluck

warm berries, touch their warmth to parted lips.

nature poetry
2

About the Creator

Adriane Giberson

words become things

writer + artist

on a mission to follow my curiosity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.