Poets logo

My Love Life

Perception

By Isis Lyons Published 10 months ago 1 min read
2

My love life.

She's a series of twist and turns, black flips and front flips, turning right and then turning left. She's unexpected, she's exciting, she's daunting, and she's ingenuous.

I love her unconditionally; I trust that she will always be herself, which is always confusing. There's a surprise at every turn; I can trust you to feed me lies. Then reveal truths as if a truth is a gift to be given, not a rule to be followed. As a child you're told to never lie, but the same individuals who spoke those words to you have told you a lie.

I'm going to get hurt while living with her; this truth is the protection that wraps me like a safety belt. I know there will be moments of joy, I know there will be moments of connection, I know there will be moments of feeling at ease. I also know there will be feelings of discomfort, such as sadness, madness and numbness. Even through these emotions I shall feel at ease because it will be for a moment, and after that moment I shall be free.

I will always love her; she's taught me the truth. That all of this is a lie. Life is just a fleeting moment, so don't forget to look at the beautiful sky. Knowledge only means something to the extent of your perception. I'll see her my way and you'll see her your way. At the end of the day without the v in alive, it's just a lie. I assume V stands for value, but it can also stand for violence. You choose how you want to see/treat her. You choose how much you add to her and how much you take from her.

My love life.

performance poetryslam poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirational
2

About the Creator

Isis Lyons

I am extremely passionate about all things writing. If you enjoy any of my stories please stay tuned and subscribe. I would really appreciate it.

Instagram; @isisthepoeticgod

@_isisthewriter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.