Poets logo

My Love For You Is

A poem in words of four letters or less

By Natalie WilkinsonPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in the Short and Sweet Challenge
20
My Love For You Is
Photo by Heather Gill on Unsplash

My love for you is like an oak,

Grow tree grow.

From bud to leaf and seed of rust,

Sap wood run in root of lust.

Grow tree grow.

My love for you is like a hill,

Tall and free.

Hike to the top and walk with me,

From East to West the path we seek,

Tall and free.

My love for you is like the sky,

Sigh wind sigh.

An odor balm blow fair and new,

So wide, true blue, and pure of hue,

Sigh wind sigh.

My love for you is like a tune,

Sing song sing.

A mix of alto, bass, and more,

A tide to ebb and flow, its core,

Sing song sing.

My love for you is like a fire,

Burn fire burn.

From twig and wood, to grey ash dust,

From coal and heat the red glow must,

Burn fire burn.

My love for you is like this note,

Ink pen ink.

The ink, not dry, has yet to say,

Be with me ever and a day,

Ink pen ink.

nature poetrylove poems
20

About the Creator

Natalie Wilkinson

Writing. Woven and Printed Textile Design. Architectural Drafting. Learning Japanese. Gardening. Not necessarily in that order.

IG: @maisonette _textiles

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    The structure you've used works beautifully with the four-letter words needed for this Challenge. Wise work!

  • Lilly Cooper9 months ago

    Congratulations on your win :) well deserved

  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    Congratulations on your win! So happy to see this one placed ❤️

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Congratulations, Natalie! So glad to see this one on the list.

  • Marilyn Glover9 months ago

    Congratulations, Natalie, I love this poem! 😃

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Hello there! I just wanted to let you know that I share your poem here: https://vocal.media/poets/stories-you-should-read-today-part-1

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Splendid, absolutely. I adore your word choices and the effect they have on me, to not necessarily follow prosaic grammar, but to evoke emotion and images. Very well done. It's melodic and intentional. Very well written. "My love for you is like the sky, Sigh wind sigh. An odor balm blow fair and new, So wide, true blue, and pure of hue, Sigh wind sigh." My favorite part. Just gorgeous.

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    This flows beautifully and your similes are perfectly expanded on in the lies. I'm glad Cendrine highlighted this. It's a wonderful poem I'm glad I didn't miss. Well done, Natalie!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Lovely and glorious!!! Love this!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Oak/Hill/Sky/Tune/Fire/Note are your six similes of love that structure both in form and meaning. A really glorious poem, classic and yet original.

  • C. H. Richard10 months ago

    I really loved this ❤️ Beautiful! Loved the flow too!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    This is beautiful. Well done.

  • This was so lovely! Such a wonderful poem!

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    My, oh my! Splendid!

  • This would be a terrific song lyric.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.