Poets logo

My Little Yellow Umbrella

Hiding in the Sea

By VTPublished 2 years ago 2 min read

I tried to imagine it

The girl I’d want to be

The one under the yellow umbrella in a monotone sea

And then, only then, would I be at peace

But it wasn’t me

Her smile wasn’t me

Her laugh wasn’t me

Humor wasn’t me

Hair wasn’t me

Face wasn’t me

Body wasn’t me

Maybe it was my mind screaming at me

Maybe it was my heart feeding the inner beast

The one that tells me there’s something wrong with everything I see

With my smile

With my laugh

With my humor

With my hair

With my face

With my body

Everything that makes me, me

I hate

Yes I hate me

I hate my smile

My laugh

My humor

My hair

My face

My body

I hate it all

So I imagined her

And I forced myself to become an impossible thing

Something that wasn’t me

List upon lists of things I didn’t realize all made up me

Written down in red ink as a symbol of changes that needed to be

And I’d hate myself even more when I couldn’t achieve

Lists turned into novels and novels into scrolls that wrapped my mind in a bunch of dos and don’ts

But it wrapped so tightly around my throat like a rope

A rope that tightened with every single word I wrote

And now I choke

I choke on my heart and brain since now they believe I’m insane

Like how can you not change these simple things

Make it all your reality

So it feeds the monster deep inside

Churns the rope now I’m climbing high

I’m high above the ceiling that’s already fell

High above the world

High above the clouds

High above reality

I hear all the sounds

Like the slight tick

The tick of the bomb that will soon send me down

No yellow umbrella will be worn like a crown to ease the decent as I spiral down

Yes, it’s happened and I’m spiraling now

Yellow turns into blue, green, and red as the thoughts I have begin to mesh

My mind can’t keep up with my tongue and my heart’s all but given up

Because my reality is this,

I could never be a yellow umbrella when I realate too much to the monotone sea

And this “darkness” seems all too ment to be…

Am I simply hiding from who I was ment to be?

sad poetry

About the Creator

VT

Where words fail my poetry speaks…

and I’m really not good at speaking.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    VTWritten by VT

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.