Poets logo

My Little Marigold

How Beautiful You Are, My Love

By Mental SweatPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Teotihuacan Pyramid, normally surrounded by barren rocks, comes alive during the rainy season.

My Little Marigold

Little marigold, how beautiful you are with vibrant petals and enchanting textures. Every time you catch my eye, I journey through wispy clouds of spring scents which cover me with a cool moisture that nurtures my skin with a love of a powerful, gentle sun.

Little marigold, you are the most beautiful thing I have ever laid my tired eyes upon. Your radiance makes each morning a blessing, and in your presence I am perpetually bathed by dawn’s youthful sparkle. You are more dazzling than the most luminous star, brighter than the moon or any comet.

Little marigold, you sustain my life better than any ancient wisdom or ritual. When I waver, you pick me up from your shelf-top perch near the window. Oh, little marigold, without you my life would be drearier than perpetual night.

Without you, little marigold, the days would be gloomy and grey. Without you, a haze would consume all the warmth of planet earth, placing me in a shadowy limbo where nothing but vague outlines dance dreadfully obscured by mist. You, little marigold, are my pride and humility, my earthliness and joy.

Without you, little marigold, I could never know the meaning of loveliness. Each moment with you transcends time but without you, time stops and I am stuck in a singular dull moment without respite. My heart turns cold like shaded marble of the northern slope, sad and without any knowledge of what loveliness could exist.

Little marigold, you are my world. When I see you, the troubles of my day melt away. With you there is only truth, for together we repel all the lies this world tries to inundate us with. When I am with you, fear is a fairy tale lurking in corners with bigfoot, jackalopes, and trolls.

Little Marigold, you complete me and are my other half. No amount of green grass swaying in gentle breezes, fruits of the tree, or crashing waves of the sea could replace you in my heart. You are more pleasing than the greatest symphony, more pleasant than any bottled perfume, and more precious than any jewel.

Little marigold, you give life itself meaning. You inspire kindness, exemplify generosity, and gift serenity but demand only water in return. You motivate everything which is good in me but never push me harder than is sustainable. You are wise, stoic, and fragile but resilient.

You are everything I want to protect, a sacred shrine for my faith to shelter from life’s ugliness and greed. One ruffle of your colored skirt is enough to remind me of childhood, of dinner bells echoing across plush fields during long summer days, and of carefree days in the gardens of Eden.

Your shine is a divine presence guiding me towards all which is good; your language is of infallibility. At the edges of my mind you protect me from madness, you shoo demons, and you cradle my lost soul. You give me a reason, little marigold, to continue living and fostering God’s kingdom on earth.

You, little marigold, are my love. You are another life in my hands, you are the instinct which makes me human. You are a little child, a precious woman, a valiant man. You are the life which allows me to think of other life, the embodiment of meaning for a human stuck in the desert void of mortality. You are the reason I breathe, why life is bearable, and what keeps me from stepping into the precipice's freefall.

You, my little marigold, are what is left after everything else disappears. You are life itself, the essence of all existence, and I will never leave you. I love you, little marigold, and I want the whole entire world to know it. I love you, little marigold, I love you.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Mental Sweat

I travel the world and learn, I watch things and make notes. Tune in for content.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.