Poets logo

My Life With MS

Why did my life have to change.

By JeanNPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
My Life With MS
Photo by Kyle Broad on Unsplash

I loved to take long walks in the woods

feeling the cool breezes on my skin and

listening to fallen branches crack as a buck

stepped on them.

I can no longer do this.

My weak and shaky legs will not handle

the challenges presented by the hills

and the forest floor.

However, I can still drive to the forest.

I can stop and open the windows

to hear the forest noises and see

the beauties the forest has to offer.

I loved to take long rides on my horse

feeling his strong muscles moving under me.

Trail rides with friends provided laughs

and adventures.

My foot in my left stirrup

can no longer help me mount successfully.

My balance makes riding

dangerous.

But I can go to a special program

that provides a ramp to make it possible

to get on the horse

And people to keep me from falling.

I always loved long walks

in the country enjoying the rural sights

or in the city where each block has something

exciting to offer.

Now I can only walk a few feet

without holding onto something for support

But I have a cane and a rollator

to keep me from falling.

And with help, I can still walk.

For now.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

JeanN

I'm an old lady with a very strange mind.

'Jeanofthenight' on Reddit.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.