Poets logo

My Life Matters

We all have a purpose

By BJPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

So many thoughts as I lye awake in this bed.

In my 37 years of living, there were plenty times I feared for my life.

Scared, that I would even be the culprit.

Remembering when I felt like I just didn’t fit in and my life had no meaning; look at me now. I’m so thankful I didn’t forfeit.

I would’ve missed out on something so beautiful.

I’m able to watch my nieces, nephew, cousins, friends, but more importantly myself grow.

Unfortunately, I can’t say that for most.

There were times when I could’ve been raped, killed in a car crash, shot in the face because I defended my girl against a fool with a gun that touched her ass.

None of those fears compared to the fear I felt when I found myself alone on a bike trail, far from home with nothing but white ppl passing me sparingly, during a modern day race war.

Living in the wake of Ahmaud Arbery’s murder, I was scared...truly feared for my life, while I was just riding my bike.

I was not in what should have been considered a dangerous situation. I’m in a public place, on a bike trail, yet I was afraid.

Afraid that anyone of these random ppl on this trail would see me and because of the color of my skin or gender feel like I didn’t belong there and take it upon themselves to dispose of me.

Who would know?

social commentary
1

About the Creator

BJ

I’ve never shared my writing publically so this is scary for me.

If 2020 has taught me anything, it’s that life is short so, here I am!

This is healing and dreamchasing at its finest.

Please share your thoughts with me ❤️

IG📸: @BJ_Aspiring

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.