Poets logo

My Life As The Fool

Once a young puppeteer who slowly turned into the fool

By Matthew MccaheyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
My Life As The Fool
Photo by Shane Devlin on Unsplash

I wasn’t always a jester you know

In my younger days I was a mere puppeteer

Slowly learning to weave my webs and play in the shadows

No one knew what was to become of me

*

Back then I had no mask to wear

My first mask was gained in pain and young love

She became the first puppet on my strings

A glimpse of my mask began to form

*

By Rach Teo on Unsplash

I was naïve to how the darkness and chaos shrouded me

Manipulation became my greatest skill

Soon I began to step out of the shadows and into the world

To perform my puppet show for all to see

*

The first half of the mask had formed

To the two worlds I belonged to

My first being my own darkness

The second my stage to shine

*

Before I knew it my show was full

My puppets were the stars and gladly played their roles

Little did they know the chaos my webs weaved

For I would be the real star to light the way

To hide my true purpose the first mask was complete

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Matthew Mccahey

I want to use stories and life experiences to allow others to be open about their own.

https://linktr.ee/Authormack729

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.