Poets logo

My Late Father

A Villanelle

By Alexis Dean Jr.Published 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
19
My Late Father
Photo by Humphrey Muleba on Unsplash

My father was always late

I’d sit sadly sulking on the stairs, and trying not to shed a tear

He was always worth the wait

I’d sit there patiently for every painful minute it’d take

Because I knew my dad loved me, it’s not that he doesn’t want to be here

My father was always late

Sometimes if it was too long, I’d make up a case,

“He’s taking care of my grandmother” or “he’s probably rescuing a deer”

He was always worth the wait

I think back to those moments when my heart would ache and shake

And a teacher, or a coach, or my mother would sneer,

My father was always late

But I would never worry that he’d forgot the date

It was me, I just didn’t say the time close enough to his ear

He was always worth the wait

I can still see his slow motion stroll, the big smile on his face

And the embrace from his arms when he’d finally appear…

My father was always late

He was always worth the wait…

heartbreaklove poemschildrens poetry
19

About the Creator

Alexis Dean Jr.

Alexis “L.E.X” Dean Jr. is a clean Hip-Hop artist, poet, and educator from Milwaukee, WI. As a writer and music artist, he focuses on the importance of educating through his words and stories...

IG: @DreamsStartYoung

DreamsStartYoung.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Carol Townend4 months ago

    I love your expression of worthiness in this poem, and I love the message you send to the world, which is that your father was always worth waiting for, even though he was always late. I loved reading this one.

  • JBaz4 months ago

    Emotional and wonderfully written, Very well deserved Top Story.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Lovely piece with some aching sadness. Congrats on the TS.

  • Abdul Khafiz4 months ago

    In an era where the pace of life demands instant solutions, M&P Courier Tracking emerges as a beacon of convenience and reliability in the world of courier services. This innovative tracking system is not just a digital tool; Regard: https://mandptracker.com/

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    A lovely poem about your father.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.