Poets logo

My Impossible

The Lure Of Love

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a month ago 1 min read
My Impossible
Photo by Richard Chiang on Unsplash

Listen to the stars begin to whisper in the night

revealing timeless tales in their ever-twinkling lights

Hidden secrets safely kept, by mere creatures made of dust

eclipsing every power the universe has made for us

We spend our moments wrapped away in fragile shells

beating hearts, like magic, with full, functional cells

Loves a gift we give away, not something to be demanded

a freeing, fragile force that our emotions have a hand in

It seems insanely impossible to capture such a thing

a promise and a vow all held together with a ring

For some, like me, it runs hot and quickly fades away

refusing to be held down, moving swiftly on its way

Still, there are solitary moments when the stars call out to me

pulling me out of my seclusion for a chance to touch the sea

And I fondly follow the loving pull of its ever-gentle waves

answering my longing and the chance of being craved

nature poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreak

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • The Dani Writerabout a month ago

    A heartfelt expression fitting well into a heartfelt poem with your expert assistance. Well done, Kelli!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    This was so poignantly beautiful! Loved it!

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    Pity the fool who tries to win the heart that belongs to the deep blue sea!

  • Mark Grahamabout a month ago

    Yes, this is full of inspiration for all.

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    Aww this is gorgeous. Well done, my friend.

  • Ameer Bibiabout a month ago

    just so amazingly crafted very natural and authentic one

  • Joe Pattersonabout a month ago

    Beautifully written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.