Poets logo

My husband thinks my name is Bella

Flash fiction

By Claire GuérinPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
7
My husband thinks my name is Bella
Photo by Cassi Josh on Unsplash

Here's flash fiction / poem I've written as a challenge, based on the following prompt.

Write a story that is between 100 and 500 words long. It must start with the following line: "My husband thinks my name is Bella."

Enjoy!

By Roma Kaiuk🇺🇦 on Unsplash

My husband thinks my name is Bella.

He also thinks I'm from Kenya.

If I play my cards right, at sundown I will rule his kingdom.

It will all have been worth it.

The killing,

the skinning,

and more importantly, wearing her.

Her skin and her voice.

Her smiles and her laughs.

Her gestures and her gait.

Her memories.

I just have to be a little more patient, wait

for the right moment when,

like every night, he will come to my room.

He will push the door gently and say

"May I come in, Bella, my love?".

And like every night,

he will lead me to the balcony,

and brush the entirety of his kingdom

with a wide swipe of his right hand,

the left resting on my hips.

Her hips.

And he will say:

"Look how peaceful and happy they are under my rule.

They could have never hoped for a better King,

Don't you think?"

Just a little push. It's all it will take.

Then finally my people will be free, and that's ---

"What are you writing, Bella, my love?"

__________________________________________________________________

If you liked this poem, you might also enjoy...

3 simple ways to support my writing, for free:

  1. Share with loved ones.
  2. Follow me on Instagram.
  3. Subscribe to my newsletter.

surreal poetry
7

About the Creator

Claire Guérin

I write speculative fiction and poems. I dream of becoming a published, full-time author. If you like my short stories and poems on Vocal, share them, follow me on Instagram and subscribe to my newsletter! More about me here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    I liked this! Especially the last line and how it brought the fantasy to a halt.

  • SC Wellsabout a year ago

    Love this. The rhythm allows the prose to flow wonderfully and I loved the twist at the end.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.