Poets logo

My Hope For You

Upon Our Permanent Parting

By Paige GraffunderPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I hope that you learn to seek.

To find calm.

To find peace.

To find quiet.

To find release.

I hope that you learn to love.

The Sunshine.

The rain.

Yourself.

The terrain.

I hope that you learn to live.

With the world

With the weather

With the unexplained

Without a tether.

I hope that you learn to wonder.

At the simple

At the complex

At the tone

At the context

I hope that you learn to stand

Up for others.

On solid ground.

In the storm.

With the profound.

I hope that you learn to lay.

Without fidgeting.

In a soft bed.

Down your weapons.

With someone close instead.

Down in bed.

I hope that one day,

You learn that every fight is not a war

That, not every battle is win or lose

That, not every person is an enemy.

That you're not the only one who gets to choose.

I hope for all of this,

Knowing that I will never know,

If you chose to reap,

Or you choose to sow.

I loved you truly.

I loved you deeply.

I loved you as hard,

As I'll love your memory.

heartbreaksad poetrylove poems
Like

About the Creator

Paige Graffunder

Paige is a published author and a cannabis industry professional in Seattle. She is also a contributor to several local publications around the city, focused on interpersonal interactions, poetry, and social commentary.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.