Poets logo

My heart thief

Some dreams are eternal

By DuskshadowsPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
8

My heart thief

I am no poet

I know little of rhyme

and less of iambic pentameter

Yet she is poetry

~

I remember seeing her for the first time

As is it were yesterday and she, the dawn

She rose over the horizon, lighting the sky

She spread her arms, the clouds fled her glory

~

Her face was beauty personified

Like a perfect diamond reflecting the light

A rainbow of passion that struck me dumb

Like the finest wine I drank her in

~

Brown, straight, and lustrous

Her hair begged to be stroked

Tan, smooth, and delicate

Her cheeks begged to be caressed

~

A yellow dress she wore

silky and diaphanous

billowing yet clinging in such tantalizing ways

a walking painting always with something new to see

~

For reasons I will never understand

I was truly blessed that day

And behold!

She strode over to me.

~

She opened her mouth to speak

And her Siren’s Song captivated me

I opened my mouth to speak

And forgot how

~

She laughed and it was as music

reverberating over my heart

She reached out and touched my hand

A thousand lightning bolts struck and I was awake again

~

Yet still in my dream come true

I felt something growl low in its throat

She could turn me into an animal

While making me want to be a better man

~

I looked in her eyes and was lost

Without realizing I asked her to lunch

And doubly blessed I was

For she said yes

~

A quarter century ago it was

And she has grown more beautiful every day

And every day it’s love at first sight

All over again

~

Even now as my fingers wander over the keyboard

In what might be an accidental poetic parody

All I can imagine is a universe where her eyes are the stars

And her heart is the sun

love poems
8

About the Creator

Duskshadows

For there is no freedom from me.

There is only freedom through me!!!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    This is so beautiful

  • Absolutely beautiful and very well written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.