Poets logo

My heart still beats for you

A poem about love after a spouse dies

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Michael Lynn Preston Sr.

There is no way to comprehend

That your life has come to and end

I’m overcome with varied emotion

Like billows of waves tossing on the

ocean

I miss the smile that was on your face

Still I remember your warm embrace

With every pulsating beat of our hearts

We grew together and not apart

Adversity forged a bond unbreakable

Though tested and tried we remained

unshakable

Our love stood the test of time

I was yours and you were mine

Now I’m here and you are gone

Im lonely and so all alone

You were my one and only lover

For me there will never be another

Death came and tore us apart

But does not stop the love in my heart

It’s real factual and true for you

Every beat is only and always for you

heartbreak

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Cheryl E PrestonWritten by Cheryl E Preston

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.