Poets logo

My Heart Doth

Swan's Song

By Cindy CalderPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

My heart doth long for the windswept days of past summers

With the sweet fragrance of flowers and the song of the lark

When you were near to me, and words of love did murmur

Into my ear, at the end of each day as well as at its start.

My heart doth wish for those sweet summer days long gone

When you would hold my hand whilst we slowly walked

Along the water’s shore, listening to the swan’s song,

Leaning close to one another as we kissed and talked.

My heart doth cry for thee throughout the day and night

And search for thee with no rest as it perpetually seeks thy face

Whilst the sun rises and sets and amidst the lure of moonlight,

There is no other thing I wish for, but to be with you in this place.

My heart doth love thee like no other, in all ways and seasons

Through it all, you are the sustenance of my life’s purest reason.

love poems

About the Creator

Cindy Calder

From Charleston SC - "I am still learning." Michelangelo

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Cindy CalderWritten by Cindy Calder

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.