Poets logo

my guardian, my protector

tw: an exploration of sexual abuse through poetry

By Morgan MartinPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I was young, terrified, and enamored with the concept of you

I was the grand exhibition in the gallery of your performance

The marble Venus, the Mona Lisa, the golden eagle

Immortalized by Facebook posts, selfies, and bragging rights

I was young, terrified, and enamored with the concept of you

I was your muse, as much as a little girl could be a muse

Your dress up doll, your play thing, your “bubble butt”

Daddy's special little girl

I was young, terrified, and enamored with the concept of you

So enamored I didn't see the signs

The tequila bottles emptied down my throat

The cold, cruel liquor greedily devoured in a vain attempt to impress you

The “you'll miss me one day” posed as a threat

As you poised yourself to haunt my dreams forever

Like a plague

A true, black death

I was young, terrified, and enamored with the concept of you

My guardian, my protector

My voice, my light in the dark

My Zeus

I was young, terrified, and enamored with the concept of you

So enamored I didn't see the golden bird you kept locked at your side, beaten into submission with voracious tongues

So enamored I didn't see you folding those bars around me, my own gilded prison, that would come to rest long after I thought I rid myself of you.

So enamored that I lied

Made you into Heracles when you were Gorgon

Beowoulf when you were Grendel

The painting, aging before me

A constant reminder of things

I

Lost

I was young, terrified, and enamored with concept of you

I was your lolita, your nymphet in floral skirts and roller skates

I was your scapegoat when things were sour

Unpleasant

I was young, terrified, and in submission to the concept of you

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.