Poets logo

My Grandson and His Baby Girl Came for a Visit Today

The greatest gift for any retired grandparent on a Monday

By Denise E LindquistPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
6
My Grandson and His Baby Girl Came for a Visit Today
Photo by Camila Franco on Unsplash

My grandson and his 4-month-old daughter came to visit today.

He couldn’t stay long on this Monday.

Baby's mom is working in the morn.

Grandson is working after the storm.

Alaska Jean is her name.

With that name, she is destined for fame.

Grandma believes all the grands to be

the smartest, best looking of all the rest, you see

all the babies in the whole USA.

You do, I do, we all do aye?

If you are a grandparent, you

will see that too!

~

Grandpa was anxious to pick her up.

He moved slowly as she didn’t look sure about what's sup.

He was giving her time to get to know him.

We haven't seen much of her as her dad is working or at the gym!

She warmed up to Grandma, as I have seen more of her.

She liked Grandpa from a distance and that is okay

if that is what she would prefer.

The plan was for a short stay.

We were all over her with our attention.

Dad and Grandpa talked about work belts and their boxing connection.

They both work out building up arms and abs primarily, and it shows.

Everyone can see that. I said I hope to see them again before it snows.

We remember my grandson at a few months older,

he was our little soldier.

~

It is nice to reminisce, and I am so glad I am still around to do this.

Our visit made my day! I will look forward to another day of bliss.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Published first by Mercury Press on medium.com

performance poetrylove poems
6

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    Alaska Jean is such beautiful name! Loved your poem!

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Loving your love poem!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Kendall Defoe 7 months ago

    Beautiful... ;)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.