Poets logo

My Fear

I contemplated whether or not to write this poem...

By Rika LekayPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
9

Stop it, s-stop it!

Please leave me be.

I beg of you!

I don't want to live a life of eternal torture...

...or suffering.

I just want to be...

...happy...

***

Where do I start?

This is so hard to say...

Everyone I've known in school,

Establishing love and whatnot.

Then there's me...

***

Yeah, sure, I've had my fair share of love,

Like any "normal" person...

But my past has scarred me for the worst,

I won't shame, but because of him...

I realize something about myself.

I cannot commit to love or anything,

Otherwise known as noncommital.

***

Why?

Why am I like this?

Because of my past...

I'm afraid...

I don't want to hurt someone I care for too much,

All because I go into a mechanism,

A previous experience has taught me.

***

As a result...

I stay quiet.

I lurk into the shadows.

I try to be as weird as possible,

So that I don't have to deal with love.

I'd rather suffer alone,

This is my own trauma that I have to deal with.

Eternally, I will always be broken,

It cannot be mended.

***

My future...

I see eternal loneliness...

They won't understand...

Why I would leave without a trace...

It's only to protect you...

I don't want to hurt anyone I love.

***

I'm not a monster...

...Like some people are to me.

I give more than I take,

And many times...

...I get taken advantage of.

Though, whether it's my childish appearance,

Or my personality,

I cannot say the reason why.

--- About this poem: ---

- Originally, I wasn't going to post this. I don't particularly like to express myself and have people feeling sorry for me.

- Whenever I get a slight glimmer of happiness, it ends up being swallowed down into a broken memory that will forever haunt me.

slam poetry
9

About the Creator

Rika Lekay

Hi! I'm currently 20 years old and I love to write short stories, poems, novels, and writing prompts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.