Poets logo

My Father's Teeth

A Horror Story in Poem

By Vivian ClarkePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Property of VVC 2021

The more I scrub, gray ash flows in liquid rivulets, it pours and trickles down each step, one-by-one.

One drop--to the next. It meets as a burned silver puddle at the base of the stairs and goes nowhere.

I keep looking at it. It feels like the more I scrub here, the more mess I make.

My heart is quickening in my chest; it pounds, but I’m doing nothing wrong.

I’m looking around, just to make sure. A silver shadow bounces off the mercury mess into a corner and back.

His teeth glint. I’m not scared, he has my father’s teeth.

Music blares--screeching in my head and pounds; the bite is familiar--I squint, sponge still in hand. The water spilling down my hand is dirty.

I wash.

That mercury-shadow person in the back is still there. Now he looks real.

‘It’s only my father,’ I tell myself.

The teeth glint neon and the spindle-fingers show lengthening black talons.

The humanoid shadow in the corner gets darker, closer, and solidifies. It’s not him.

It’s something new; something strange.

I turn the sound up on my playlist.

I scrub the stairs but not my hair.

I look away.

Only one monster a day.

2020

Original Artwork: Property of VVC 2021

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Vivian Clarke

Third-culture-kid-now-adult with a melancholic disposition trying to make sense of life, like anyone else.

I live for my daughter, cats, and coffee.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.