Poets logo

My End.

L. Tyrrell

By Lauren TyrrellPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

The sound of rain spilling from the heavens eases the dying feeling within my chest.

I am one of many here today, a lowly procession for the damned and depraved. I can see specters above the milky clouds, dancing and screaming at the same time, waiting to welcome the innocent home.

I am not one of them. I am wanted far below, on all nine circles.

I lie in my last moment, wishing I was nailed to a cross for all to see. I am in agony, and the light is slipping even further away. No light at the end of my tunnel, only a wallowing darkness eclipsed in black shadows. This is the end, as was my beginning, as was all of my life.

I don´t know why I thought it would be any different here.

I have drained the dregs of my very own soul and I still feel the soothing pain underneath my scars. I have crushed myself beneath the weight of another´s sin. I still feel the sting of blood leaving my body by my own free will.

And I still feel the shame for your mistake.

I have dug my own grave in the soil; shallow, lonely and easily hidden. I have left myself for the grey wolves. No amount of funeral flowers or holy water will consecrate this grave, or this god forsaken place.

I lived my life in these shadows, echoing halls where no hallowed thought haunts. I can still feel the anxious screaming, the depressed dying, the manic laughing and the suicidal screaming. So many shadows, in only one hall.

It was only a matter of time.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Lauren Tyrrell

Alleviating the darkness, one day at a time.

Irish.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.