Poets logo

My Dearly Beloved

Our Spotlight Faded

By Brin J.Published 2 years ago 1 min read
11
Ahmad- Odeh unsplash

The only spotlight I've ever known was on a stage

illuminating me as I moved and swayed

for a few short moments, I was displayed

to my paramour who would soon engage

*

Like being under the moon at night

its glow would further set the mood

It was custom for our evening's delight

and never took much to be wooed

*

From the moment the red curtain drew

and the symphony began its praise

not a thing could disrupt my daze

as courtship bid upon my debut

*

My heart became one with the tune

its ambiance could not be replaced

oh, how this piece had made me swoon

with its romantic and loving embrace

*

The notes of the song struck me deep

caging my soul in its bewitching trance

like a perfect partner, it led our dance

with oboes that would make you weep

*

With its breath of life, it filled the room

providing intimacy that gave me air

I knew to stop would lead to my doom

and destroy our fervent love affair

*

The spotlight's beam graciously shined

accentuating us and I grew unaware

of the audience who came to stare

while it showcased how we intertwined

*

I jumped and lept with toes that curl

landing in the heart of your song

Nearing the end I gave a final twirl

but saying goodbye felt wrong

*

Shortly after, the spotlight faded

quietly signaling it’s our time

taking my suitor, leaving me to pine

as I begged to reunite with my fated

*

It's been a decade yet my heart still aches

and yearns for one final soiree

But I'm past my prime, to my dismay

so each day it continues to break

as I mourn the loss of my beloved ballet

sad poetry
11

About the Creator

Brin J.

I never believed the sky is the limit, therefore my passions are expansive. My interest in writing stemmed from poetry but my heart lead me to Sci-Fi Fantasy. Consequently, my stories are plot-driven with splashes of evocative elements.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Ballet is so intense, I bet it is hard to leave behind!! great poem!

  • Dylan about a year ago

    Beautiful ❤️

  • Testabout a year ago

    Oh, this is so, so beautiful! There is something about ballet and the commitment to the beauty of ballet that is so wonderful❤️❤️- Anneliese POETRY IN THE RAIN The stage couldn’t contain my sorrow so I danced sad poetry, on shining streets in the rain. I wrote of unhappy reflection in my slow, elegant pirouettes & rage in my powerful Grande Jetés, but acceptance came in a gentle plié & hope in my reaching arabesques.

  • Testabout a year ago

    Lovely, lovely poem, amazing - Anneliese

  • Dan Oproiuabout a year ago

    his was absolutely beautiful and also pulled at the heartstrings.

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    I love the level of intimacy maintained throughout the poem. And who would think to highlight an oboe for an instrument that produces a sound to make one weep!

  • Jaroldabout a year ago

    Good thinking..

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This was absolutely beautiful and also pulled at the heartstrings. I felt like I was whisked away in a dance with you, and now remember it all as it was. Very well done ❤️❤️

  • Mary Haynesabout a year ago

    Very moving. A passion that must change with the passage of time.

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    This was so lovely and bittersweet. Excellent poetry :)

  • Penny Fuller2 years ago

    Heartbreaking. I know what it's like to deeply love something and get past the point where you can do it the way you once did. This was really well done.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Lovely!!! Loving it💕

  • J. Delaney-Howe2 years ago

    Beautifully written. Thank you for sharing!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Brilliant!!!💕 Subscribed 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.