Poets logo

My Dear Sweet Coke

How I Love You

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
15
My Dear Sweet Coke
Photo by Andrey Ilkevich on Unsplash

Ode to coke a cola

The spit of your fizz

That spatters my lips

Stirs an energy, unlike any other

The bubbles that rise

Bring a tear to my eyes

And a sweet sticky smile that soon covers

From my fingertips, all the way to my hips

Your goodness astounds and completes me

But only your taste will bring me such ease

Not Dr Pepper, root beer or cold pepsi

The slurp sounds I make

As I greedily taste

The goodness none other near replicate

Is worth every cent

That the vendor requests

A thank you bellows, from deep in my face

Oh, dear sweet, sweet cola

The tingle you give to my tongue

Is far better than any before you

The sadness that flows as the emptiness grows

Is an emptiness I cannot get over

So instead of despair

I’ll just comb my hair

And run down to the store for, another

humor
15

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Leslie Writes10 months ago

    I'm a Coke girl myself. Love the poem!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Lol. This is great.

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    👏☺️Very fun and funny! I’ve had a bit of a coke addiction in the past so this was very relatable. 😅🤣

  • ❤️👍📝This is magnificent 🤣Yes, indeed to the slurp sounds -😆

  • Diani Alvarenga10 months ago

    I will always love Coca Cola ❤️

  • A true classic (never new; blechh!). Though shouldn't it be "Coca Cola" rather than "Coke a Cola"? Or were you wanting them to return to the original recipe with actual cocaine? And I'm sorry, but I still prefer Dr. Pepper, especially when adding one small liquid packet of French Vanilla non-dairy creamer to it. An Italian, Dr. Pepper cream soda is to die for!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Kelli, that was super!!! Remembering those soda days, a coke is a fading memory. This was beautifully written & loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Lilly Cooper10 months ago

    I'm a Coke No Sugar girl myself, but I hear you! it's my guilty pleasure.

  • Denise E Lindquist10 months ago

    I drink sugar-free, no-caffeine coke, so it is only a couple of times a year now! Just not the same. Thanks for the reminder though!

  • Poppy 10 months ago

    I loved this! Super relatable, Coke is the best!

  • Heather Hubler10 months ago

    I liked the flow of this one!! I don't drink soda, so I just pictured coffee instead...hahahaha!! Great entry, Kelli :)

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    This made be thirsty for a bottle of cold coke 💓

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.