Poets logo

My Dear Alien Friend

A homeage to my grandparents. I think my alien friend would have loved to meet them.

By Matthew MccaheyPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 2 min read
7
My Dear Alien Friend
Photo by Mateus Campos Felipe on Unsplash

My alien friend of mine

The only place I must show is a place to dine

In a home where wisdom aged like fine wine

Where the forests meet the lake and smell like pine

*

To my grandparents' house we go

Time here moved ever so slow

And just the thought fills me with so much woe

With tears falling down my face, this place I show

*

Summer nights watching baseball with my grandma on the tv

When my heart was so full of glee

Even when I scraped my knee

My grandparents love engulfed me like the sea

*

I would show my alien friend home-made cookies; melting in just the right way

And before a meal, my grandparents would always pray

Grandma’s cooking always made me want to stay

An endless summer full of play

*

I’d show them the fireflies buzzing in the night

Don’t be afraid they won’t bite

To a young child full of awe and wonder they shined so bright

Something I lost the ability to see when I became filled with spite

*

I apologize my alien friend, for all I can show you are memories of a past

They lived their lives so slowly, yet time moved so fast

I hope you can see what it means to love so vast

Long after their time has passed

*

A home full of comfort and warmth, frozen in time

You would have loved them in their prime

Oh, the mountains they could climb

Now this house sits empty covered in grime

*

You could travel as far as the eye could see and never encompass the human soul better

Here try on this hand-made sweater

While reading an old love letter

And know what it means to feel fetter

*

This was the only place I could call home

All that remains are these memories I hold in my tome

To me it was better than Rome

Here we have a garden gnome.

artsad poetrynature poetrylove poems
7

About the Creator

Matthew Mccahey

I want to use stories and life experiences to allow others to be open about their own.

https://linktr.ee/Authormack729

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    gorgeous work! This was the perfect destination! Well done!!

  • Awww, this was so wonderful! Your alien friend is so lucky! Loved your poem!

  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    This visitor Alien will never want to leave. Excellent creation ♥️

  • Wow… This felt so personal… and it really made it shine. Beautiful work Matthew 🕊️✨❤️

  • Nice one 😉💯👽🔥

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.