Poets logo

My Condolences

Michael Marchese

By Michael Brandon MarchesePublished 4 years ago 1 min read

Been years

Since the last time

I saw them

And now

To learn they have departed

This world

Brings me down

Even though

I can’t say

Inconsolable, maudlin

Lugubrious moods

Or funereal grief’s

How I mourn

The deceased

Who were known to me

Only as

Cold nursing homes

Just the half of me

Even the kid-me

Disowned

Can’t explain why,

Just know why

I had to get going

Was better off

Lonely as ever

Up-growing

With not but a mother

And sister

To guide me

And not but some

Pen and ink pages

To hide me

That side of my

Ancestry,

History

Dead to me

Lost to me,

Costing me

Nothing but precious

Life seconds

Spent guessing

A second chance

Giving

My father a message

Don’t think me your son

But someone

You rejected,

Abandoned,

Neglected

Yet always expected

To sit silently

In your presence

With presents

Unwrapping to find

Hollow sentiments

Resonant

Still reminiscing

In retrospect,

Love-bereft

Lost holiday

Christmas list

Wishes to forget

Ever naive

My reason to believe

When you’d leave us

You’d leave us

A reason to grieve

Family matters in tatters

Don’t matter to me

sad poetry

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Michael Brandon MarcheseWritten by Michael Brandon Marchese

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.