Poets logo

My Comfort

When I'm sad and in need of comfort

By Shadow JamesPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Table I mod podged with photo memories

When I'm feeling sad and in need of comfort

Its my memories that I always turn to

Memories of my two beautiful children

And all the wonderful things we used to do.

I remember the cute little questions they once asked

About things they didn’t quite understand,

All their hopes and dreams for the future

And the wonderful lives they each had planned.

I can still remember that exhilarating feeling

The first time I brought each of them home.

It was such an exciting time for my husband and I,

To finally have a family of our very own.

I must admit we had some wonderful times

Of course we had some very hard times too

But we always stuck together as a family

And there was nothing we couldn’t get through.

The only complaint that I have at all

Is how quickly the time flew by

They had become adults moving out on their own

It all seemed to happen in the bat of an eye.

Now it’s back to two again

Just my husband and I

And as proud as we are of them

It wasn’t easy to say good-bye.

So It’s the memories that I find comfort in

Thoughts of my children make everything better

I will cherish all the memories of our lives

Of the wonderful years we all had together.

Photos of family time at Boca Raton, Florida

love poems
1

About the Creator

Shadow James

Love to read most anything. After a long absence, I'm toying with the idea of writing again.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman about a year ago

    That was good! It’s good to have good memories!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.