Poets logo

My Comfort

The Facets of Love

By M.J. CarlockPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
My Comfort
Photo by Ben Wicks on Unsplash

If I were a flower,

You would be the rain,

When the earth gets dry,

You’re faithful to come again.

You’d reach down to my roots,

Soak completely in,

You’d help me fully bloom,

And see the sun again.

If I were a seashell,

Alone on the shore,

I know you’d find me,

To give me a home once more.

You’d lift me to your ear,

So you could hear the sea,

You’d whisper your deepest wishes,

And I’d pray you’d never let go of me.

If I were a bird,

You’d be my tree,

I’d sing my songs,

And you’d dance with the breeze.

I’d build my nest,

And never leave,

Because in your branches,

I’ve found safety.

If I were a sword,

I’d find your hand,

I’d protect you,

Through enemy plans.

I’d stay by your side,

Faithful and true,

No one could ever,

Tear me from you.

If I were an ember,

You’d be the flame,

That wisps in the wind,

And burns away the pain,

I’d fuel your warmth,

And you’d light my way,

Always together,

No matter the hours, minutes, or days.

If I were a queen,

You'd be my reign,

Where love would rule,

Again and again.

When decisions get tough,

And I could fall apart,

I'd turn to you,

My comfort, my love,

The King of my heart.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

M.J. Carlock

I find that words are powerful; regardless of their form, they carry influence over our lives, and we must wield their power with both wisdom and heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.