Poets logo

My Colours

What colour means to me.

By Joey LeePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Red

The colour of love,

because my cheeks flush when he lays his eyes on me.

The colour of happiness,

when uncontrollable laughter paints my skin beet red.

The colour of hatred,

when my face burns from the fire within me, fuelled by anger.

My emotions give me more life than the red that courses through my veins.

Orange

Perhaps more violent than Red;

As it slowly and torturously kills the night

To give life to my city.

Perhaps more peaceful than Blue;

When it dims the daylight

To lull my city to sleep.

Yellow

Must be the loudest colour of them all.

They look at me like I am Yellow,

But my reflection only shows me our similarities.

They speak to me, loudly and slowly, like I am Yellow,

But my tongue responds with a different Shade.

They ask me if I am Yellow,

But I must have misunderstood the question because I am Canadian.

I must be colour blind to Yellow.

Green

The colour of nature;

Trees,

Grass,

Earth – our home.

The colour of human creation;

Greed,

Value,

Paper – our worth.

Blue

Weird,

“I am feeling Blue” is what they say

But Blue is my happy colour.

It gives me peace and serenity

When my thoughts congest my mind with such intensity,

When I am surrounded by events and extremity,

Blue is an amenity

Which I consider is part of my identity.

Purple

The mixture of both

Fire and water,

And anger and calmness.

It is the Grey of Black and White.

Colour

Is more than just a visual –

It gives identity to every individual.

And even in its most transparent, down to its residual,

Their symbolic representations are beautiful.

list
Like

About the Creator

Joey Lee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.