Poets logo

My Colour Identity

A poem to decode

By Kaitlyn DawnPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4
Pictured above: Emma Giordano (emmmabooks on YouTube) -- one of my icons!

Keeps dreaming and believing;

Always ready for something new;

Interests are many and varied;

Took a while, but finally grew;

Loves to write Write WRITE;

Young and fun and true.

Now all that's left for me is ... to do the things I want to do!

*

People expect me to live

Ideal to society's rule.

Nothing I do is right;

Kaitlyn, in true form, is a fool.

*

Personally, I see my beautiful

Uniqueness as a gift to all who know me.

Right now, I could not be more

PROUD of who I take the time to be.

Life is moving forward;

Eventually I'll be fully Kaitlyn -- I'll be fully free.

*

But ... to be honest ...

Let's just say the world does not yet know.

Uniqueness must be administered in small doses;

Everyone isn't quite ready for all of Kaitlyn to show.

social commentary
4

About the Creator

Kaitlyn Dawn

27, Canadian, she/her

Life & Creativity Coach

reader, writer, and lover of words

https://www.kaitlyndawn.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.