Poets logo

My Calling to Comprehend Colour

A Poem by Holly Morningstar

By Holly MorningstarPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Sanctum by Holly Morningstar (full image: https://www.artstation.com/artwork/lxKA0z)

With red hot passion abound, I’ve always found

A solace in art and all that’s involved;

Right from my green start, I’ve set it apart,

As a skill I’ve thrived always to evolve.

After years of hard work, cultivating this quirk,

Colour theory was the next concept to know.

Remembering yellow sunflowers, I spent hundreds of hours

Listening to reflections in the letters of Van Gogh;

I learned every blade of grass deserves more than a single pass,

With strokes of life, light and luck in every layer;

Not only green, but yellow can be seen

And blue in shadows otherwise painted greyer.

With intuitive tact, it’s a balancing act

Between colours of contrast around the page.

In this lifelong mission, I assure my position

Of understanding ever more still with age.

With all that I’ve learned, I’ve diligently turned

My musings and creations to gold.

I’ve dismantled my pride, for masters have failed more than beginners have tried,

So with countless failures, I’ve learned not to fold.

For what I can see, with my mind’s eye and me,

Is beauty too great not to be shared.

So with ink, lead and pen, I’ll try every day again

To bring colour to all living in grey, feeling blue lost or scared.

Because a life without, I’m never in doubt,

Would be a prison, a tragedy, a sin.

So with all that I do, to share my inspiration with you,

I strive to foster joy for this world that we’re in.

All these colours I’m seeing are rich in flavour and meaning,

Enticing gaze, thought and feeling and tone.

In its majesty is spirit, with its diversity we exhibit

Expression unique and universal so we need not feel alone.

In the emotions we feel and in all shades of zeal,

We can connect even more and steer clear of duller.

For all these reasons and more, I’m tickled pink to implore,

That we’re forever blessed to see the whole world in colour.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Holly Morningstar

Dare I dream of a world where creativity does not illustrate the thoughts, ideas and dreams of the individual across the sea of the united, so its lessons, ponderings and wonders may not colour the many-shaded greys of an artless world?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.