Poets logo

my bones won't let me dance

I can't escape myself

By Marlowe Faust Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

My bones won’t let me dance.

My passionate illustration of a song becomes suspended

amidst organs and ribs.

I try to rip free as I

transform

spun out, arms out

around a center beat

that I can’t quite swallow.

If I could really dance

it would be a blissful fall

into a pure emotion

expressed by the body

in an ensō aloud.

But instead I’m left to pull and yank

climb and tumble

throw and drop

right up next to the sun.

I want to drift eternally

at the highest speeds

around the core

but I can’t even revolve right.

I misstep

My mind and body both retreat

and my movements turn cold.

I lose the melody

And my stresses skip around my ankles . . .

I wobble.

I can breathe deep, and climb back to the

warm aura,

I can turn, dilate, and collapse

I can

flow and stomp

and scream

but

No matter how hard I try,

my bones won’t let me truly dance.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Marlowe Faust

I try.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.