Poets logo

My Body Is Not My Own

Inspired by the Color Yellow

By CameronPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

Growing up I'd never know why I couldn't stand my name,

Why I would feel dislocated and nauseous when my mother called for me,

Why when I would look into the mirror I would never see a figure,

Staring back at me.

It didn't feel right in my joints

And my bones beneath my skin;

I wasn't what I looked liked, I felt sickly, the future felt grim.

Dysmorphia?

Where's the Euphoria?

The excuses poured out from peers. Maybe I was just too fat to feel comfortable;

The world had shifted gears.

And for years I felt this way with paint in my mouth, tasting rust instead of spit when I looked at myself-

Thinking that things would change when I got skinny, unaware that it wasn't what I looked like that caused me grief but something within me.

Pale Yellow.

The truth.

The taste of spit at last.

I wasn't a girl. That wasn't my name, not my body, not my frame. I had been living a lie, breathing the wrong air.

Dysmorphia?

Dysphoria! That was my answer, my bones fit in my body, my joints ceased to worry.

I had found a sense of pride in my identity.

And my mother didn't believe me and continued to call me someone else's name, but my mouth tasted like Yellow instead of boring old paint.

And for the first time in my life I looked into the mirror,

No makeup, no filter-

And knew I was a Person.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Cameron

They/Them

Aspiring Playwright

Actor

I hope you like poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.