Poets logo

My Birthmark

A Devine Stamp

By Margaret DraperPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

A birthmark on my inner arm is there

Like dark red blood it lies upon my skin

In unfeigned shock small children stop and stare

Is this a sign evil resides within

In times of old a need was often sought

To bring to light those who had such malice

It mattered little an error was wrought

Cleansed from taint was flesh' mortal palace

Am I defiled for the scarlet mark borne

Or could this be a sign of higher grace

Carried on flesh a jewel to adorn

A reminder this is a temporal space

So my cardinal banner I proudly bear

Waiting for celestial garments to wear

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.