Poets logo

My Baby Was 44 On July Twenty-First, Twenty-Twenty-Two!

Please help me celebrate this day, will you?

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
John, me and Pat. Authors photo.

My baby has a birthday in July and he turned age 44 years

that is bringing me to tears

how can he be that old?

It was cold

this morning and windy

are we changing the subject, Cindy Lou?

It will not make me any younger, Mindy Moo!

🥳

He was a big boy when he was born

10#, 6 oz., and I was torn

but no more babies for me after that

and there I sat

for it took 10 years to get an older brother

for him and another 15 years later there were four other

steps for a total of 7 children for me to mother

🎈

He is such a great guy

I sure can’t say boy, why

he is almost as old as I!

Happy birthday to my baby boy!

He will still be getting a toy

as a hedge trimmer was on his list

sounds like a toy to me, I get the gist.

🎉

His baby girl was a big surprise to me

I had given up on his having any you see

she is 2 years old and doing well

what do they say about twos, they are swell?

He is the very best dad ever

I would have never

doubted that but whatever.

Pat’s birthday present from him and Meg!

Pat and Meg's new pontoon and their photo.

They got a pontoon

that comes with a tune

or two or three

Happy birthday to me

is one of them you see

I can hardly wait to visit

the benefits of being a parent, or is it?

****

First published by Mercury Press on Medium

love poems
2

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sindy Leah Fitz2 years ago

    Brings back all the emotions. I love this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.