Poets logo

My All-Seeing, Lazy Purple Eye

My True Color

By Mary R Holt-WillisPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
All-Seeing Lazy Eye

As a little girl, I wished the color of my eyes were Purple, hazed with blue.

Thinking, maybe in between Joy and Sadness,

it would make my all-seeing lazy eye look exotic.

As I got older, I thought If I had a different color, maybe people wouldn’t

notice how my left eye sometimes wanders off, during the conversation.

The purple wandering eye takes a long trip to visit my left side peripheral

vision.

But that All-seeing eye never saw a thing when it came to color or love.

It sees human beings. Flesh, Bone, and Blood.

Simple, Flat-OUT, Point Blank Period!

It sees Humans needing an escape, a refuge, a place to call home, even a

love to call their own.

It sees the hustle, the heart, the wins of the human spirit

It has always seen the best colors in human form:

The thumping, resilient red hues of passion, heart, and courage like we saw

on September 11th, 2001

The bright, hardy hue of orange love running from one hand to another,

like a baton being passed during a relay race.

When the blue tears of loneliness settle in the eyes of the sick,

hungry, or destitute; a bright beam of green hope shines through at the right

hour, to refresh and rescue.

My all-seeing lazy purple eye is one of my unique features.

A caveat to many conversations of wonder and surprise!

“Were you born this way?” They ask.

“Yes” proudly falls from my lips

*Person stares in Side eye*

"Can You See Me? Are You Looking at Me?"

"Yes" proudly falls from my lips, again!

It’s a defect, a trauma from my birth.

The proper name for it: Amblyopia.

I was just now seconds old when I learned this!

But, I’m not traumatized because of it.

I am a better person because of it,

I radiate magnaimous shades of red, green, and black because of it.

I found my self worth, and my identity in this Lazy eye.

My True colors are in my All-Seeing Lazy Eye, which sometimes closes,

wanting to wake up straight, normal, status quo!

But no part of me has ever seen the purpose of existing regular.

Unique, I and my lazy, all-seeing purple eye will be until I depart from

Thee.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.