Confessions logo

Called on by a Gravedigger

'82 Petrus under the moon, tonight?

By Mary R Holt-WillisPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Care for a bottle of Petrus '82?

Walking through the graveyard, I saw him walking afar off, with a rake in his hand. He was the most beautiful man I had seen in a while. Bald and bronzed, His magnanimous muscles and chiseled face glistened with sweat. I almost forgot why I was there, looking at that tall cool drink of awesomeness. I gathered myself quickly and approached my Grandmother's grave. She's the reason I'm in France in the first place. Nana Kay died 3 weeks ago, peacefully in her sleep, at 97 years old.

I was here visiting for the summer when she made her transition. So, Grandpa Teddy & I planned and set her funeral. My parents and the rest of the family flew in from Minnesota. We had a lovely ceremony and buried her here overlooking the vineyards. I'm 27 and the second oldest grandchild, so Nana Kay kept asking when I was going to meet a nice man and get married. I kept telling her that I was busy enough with building and expanding my consulting business for all of that dating and love nonsense! Besides, who can find a quality dude out here?

Truth be told, I don't have time for narcissists, men with too many baby mamas, no job, no ambition, unfaithful liars, full of drama, issues & tissues, you get my point, I'm not here for the extra-ness! I knelt beside the gravestone and placed a rose on top of it and said a quick prayer and started to tell Nana Kay everything that was on my mind. I cried about how much I missed her, How Gramps Teddy can't sleep without her and is roaming around the halls of their mansion at night, like a lost sheep, silently wishing she'd pop up to fix him a glass of warm milk and cinnamon.

I was relating to Nana Kay how most of our family, friends, and staff were a collective mess and in turmoil over her being gone. Suddenly, this guy whizzes past me on a riding mower and almost knocked me into a grave!! I yelled after him, "Hey dumbass, I'm standing here! Just trying to talk to my Grandma! Can't you see?! As he rides on, not paying me an ounce of attention, I see bright green earbuds placed in his ears. He really didn't see or hear me.

I decided to cut the visit short and head back to the truck. I'm thinking hard now. Nana's advice and words of comfort would've calmed all of the chaos down! What would she say now to help her family through this loss?! My brain and heart were blank, as I walked back up to the road. I walked over to the Mercedes Benz GLS-class 550, where Aaron, Nana, and Gramps chauffeur, stood. "How are you, Miss?" Concern crossed his brow, "Aaron, I'd be better if Nana Kay was still alive and if the dude on the lawnmower didn't just try to mow me into the plot next to her." I chuckled, as He opened the door. "Well, let's get you back to Graceful Manor, away from this madness." He closed the door and walked around to the driver's side to commence our 25-minute journey back home.

Pulling up to the house, we pass Gramps’ study window. I saw him sitting there by the fire, scotch in hand, looking utterly sad. Aaron parks the truck and I hop out before he can get to the door. I head for Gramps' study. I knock at the huge Maple doors and then I wait, "Come In" echoes through the door and I walk in. Hey Gramps, how are you?"

His icy gray eyes lit up " I'm good Za'Riyah, trying to be better. What do you have planned for the evening?" I look over at the fire, " I was going to chill with you, Gramps." We talked for a while, when the clock rang at 11:00 Gramps patted my hand and chuckled "Don't sit here another night, counting your sorrows with me. I'm going to play pokers with some of my school chums. Get out and enjoy yourself" I smiled at Gramps Teddy as he rose. Thinking to myself, I had nowhere to go. "Well, I’ll find something to do, Gramps, no worries!" That plan would consist of a hot bath, a great book, and going to bed early.

Gramps Teddy and Aaron took off. I grabbed Old Man and The Sea from the shelf closest to the study door and headed to the kitchen for a quick snack. Suddenly, the telephone rings. I set my things down on the kitchen table and walk back into the hall to grab the phone. "Hello" fumbles out of my mouth, then I hear "Meet me in the graveyard, at midnight. Come by yourself." Then a dial tone! I check the clock, it's 11:25. Should I go????

I race back to the kitchen and write a quick note for Gramps Teddy to let him know where I've gone. I walked down to the garage and grab Nana Kay's 2011 Tesla roadster keys. I hop in the bright red beauty & floor it to the cemetery.

I roll up to the cemetery with nine minutes to spare. I sit still in my seat, wondering should I get out. Just then, I see a shadowy figure walk out towards the headlights, holding up an old-looking bottle and two glasses. I reached for my Glock in my purse. I squint and realize as the 6-foot figure comes closer to the car, that it's the guy who almost mowed me into a grave, earlier. I get out, " You almost killed me! I yelled at you and everything!" He was smiling, "Well, Hello to you too, Za'Riyah. I'm Alonzo. I figured out who you were because you yelled at me and ran off.

The older grave digger, Gabritzo. told me what happened and that I should reach out to you at. This is my apology, Za'Riyah. I'm sorry. Have a glass of Petrus '82 with me, under this superbly huge moon, and get to know me better?"

Could I possibly resist an evening under the moon with a handsome gentleman & a few glasses of one of most expensive vintages, as an apology?

I didn't 😏

Dating
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.