Poets logo

Musings before the dawn chorus

My body sleeps, yet still I wander

By P. K. GaniPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2022
31
Musings before the dawn chorus
Photo by Osman Rana on Unsplash

This city is bustling

horns honking in a jam

I wind down the window

to talk to the man

There's nowhere to go

it won't exist when I awaken

They carry on travelling

like I must be mistaken

~

Let's dress up all fancy

I'll raid a boutique store

I'm presented with ruins

This isn't what I came for

oh where's your finest?

it's here for me I say

That's where you're wrong

and I'm sent on my way

~

On a street from the matrix

she stands out in red

I call out behind her

so she turns her head

It's a special day tomorrow

I know, but I can't be there

and into the crowd she goes

both everywhere and nowhere

~

I'm sat in an old car

aunt and gran either side of me

we're on a large runway

and need to leave immediately

a plane is heading toward us

as scarey as it may seem

doesn't matter I repeat

it's only a dream

love poemssurreal poetryfact or fiction
31

About the Creator

P. K. Gani

I'm an avid reader exploring fragments of my imagination and revisiting moments in writing. I hope others enjoy what I piece together.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Janice Dailyabout a year ago

    I love how you conveyed the disorienting and unpredictable nature of dreams, and the longing for something more in the waking world. Subscribing :)

  • Angelina F. Thomasabout a year ago

    Excellent work

  • Angelina F. Thomasabout a year ago

    This is so great. Keep it up friend

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Fantastic! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Such a wonderful feel and rhythm

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Sazzzy KaMagwazaabout a year ago

    How wonderful..

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.