Poets logo

Music Box

I wait for you there.

By Emily N. DeFallaPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
2

Yellow mustard bushes seed,

white Calle lilies growing free.

Clouds that move so quickly past,

warm magic evenings here at last.

Enchanted by sunsets bright,

moonlight on swing sets soaring so high.

Fragrant night jasmine in bloom,

magnolia trees so giant, loom.

Sounds gush out of the guitar,

piano keys singing back from afar.

The candlelight's soft low glow,

in a house old as memories.

Around record player spins,

your ruff hands on my smooth soft skin.

Vintage dress hits wooden floor,

my breath catches begging for more.

Painted eyes open so wide,

windup toy never quite unwinds.

Muffled sounds by heavy doors,

words stand still but our bodies roar.

The little deaths cloud my thought,

my rational now very lost.

Perfect as a summer dream,

that lost chance can now never be.

Yet the flowers still remain,

dull tarnished antique silver vase.

My heart waits there, can’t let go,

haunted stares from that old window.

Tear-soaked pale-warn yellow sheets,

cling to that 4-post canopy.

Waiting there eternally,

my fantasy won't let me sleep.

Memory a foolish wish,

once was tied to my happiness.

Maybe somewhere down the way,

in memory my dream will fade.

You will find me there perhaps,

our passioned souls joined then at last.

We will stay there in that trance,

Forever lost, in our private dance.

Free Verse
2

About the Creator

Emily N. DeFalla

Weaving dreams into reality, magic spun into the mundane. Staying grounded firmly in fantasy, adventure hidden in boring and plain. I've been there, I've felt that. The insane crippling agony of this world. The amazing breath taking joy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.