Poets logo

Muse

a poem

By Althea VeritasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Muse
Photo by Pascal Bernardon on Unsplash

Your face is my muse

bringing forth inspiration

A world seen anew

awakening creation

Lexical symphonies heard

At the sound of your name

harmonious rhythms

from hearts beating the same

Your embrace melodic memory

of a place I have known

in your arms my hearts chorus

sings out softly I’m home

A portrait is painted

sparked by desire

beautiful brush strokes

created with passions bright fire

You are the reason

my pen writes with such haste

bringing forth so much beauty

and none should I waste

I write what I feel

Stanzas honest and true

Their splendor seems pale though

When I compare them with you

Feelings this profound

result in much art

none as amazing

as what is felt in the heart

A sonnet or sculpture

a beautiful song

a flawless ballet

or a portrait that’s drawn

All these could be made

At a hint of affection

but none would quite be

a perfect reflection

The beauty inspired

from just one small glance

can never reveal

how your eyes have me

me entranced

The words that I pen

of which you are the cause

can never express fully

and this gives me pause

What mere words can one write

none that are new

to bring into focus

my point of view

no language is fitting

There are no words that will do

Except maybe these

simple and few

in the end

I am left with just

I love you

love poems
1

About the Creator

Althea Veritas

Althea Veritas is a freelance wordsmith who has a strange preference for gratuitous rhyming and intrepid alliteration, just not in biographies.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.