Poets logo

Murky Eyes

Poem by Lilian Wicca

By Lilian Wicca Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Murky Eyes
Photo by Antônia Felipe on Unsplash

I feel stuck as if I were formed from marble,

each intricate detail of my body,

carved and curved for the satisfaction of others,

my lips smoothed over for pearl shine,

my hips chiseled with an hour glass for times content,

a heart guarded by non transparent eyes,

like a cloudy white sky on a sunny day,

become the standards of beauty for them to be fulfilled,

I can not predict weather I'm real or a slab of marble,

who am I to know who I am when I'm stuck trying to be someone else for them?

nothing to me,

except a plain figure of ivory with so much meaning,

and no soul to prove it.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lilian Wicca

In a world of lovely things we often find ourselves surrounded by endings. If I am to end someday, I'd like to be buried with the words of my thoughts

I'm a 19 year old poet, I love to write about love/death.

If you enjoy, please subscribe:)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.