Poets logo

MurderVerse

Max

By David ParhamPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1
MurderVerse
Photo by Paul Kapischka on Unsplash

Start writing...Max wasn't the woman she used to be

The woman I knew growing up

She had aged, significantly

The years hadn't been good to her

Drinking and smoking had done their damage

Her many associations with sketchy individuals

Had taken a toll

She was facing her twilight years with fear riding on her shoulder

Fear of being killed by people like me

Fear of being arrested

She prayed a lot and went to confession three times a week

Thoughts of the life beyond this life didn't offer much peace

Max knew too much, that made her dangerous

Dangerous enough to kill

***

She was forgetful, Maxine was

So when she answered her door and called me, Jimmy, I wasn't surprised

I took no offense

She quickly corrected herself and practically yelled, Oh Johnny.

What a surprise

Johnny come in quick, get in off the street.

Give me a hug, Johnny

She held me tight then sort of looked me over

Your so tall, I don't remember you being so tall

And I didn't remember Maxine, being so short

Five foot, five inches, maybe?

We walked into the front room, we sat down

What brings you around, Johnny?

I lied and said I had business in the neighborhood

She waved her hand, I don't want to know, those days are over.

I lied again and said I was looking into buying a flower shop

Legit

Oh that's nice, would you care for something to eat or drink?

No Maxine. Actually, I was wondering how Gina was doing

You mean since Lucky passed?

Since Lucky died in a pool of his own blood for refusing to pay his gambling debts

But I didn't say that, I remained respectful

She comes over about once a week, brings the baby

That's nice. I was wondering how she was doing, ya know...

She seems to be fine, went through a period of mourning but she's still young, she bounced back

Is she seeing anyone right now?

Yeah, that ghoul from the funeral home where she had Lucky laid to rest

Martin the undertaker

Not Carl at L and L?

No she turned them down. She went and found this little hole in the wall in Newark

I had no idea, I was in Miami with my parents when all this happened

I was so mad, I had Carl paid up for a nice send-off.

Why would she turn down Lund and Langmore, I wonder?

Maxine smiled, all the bigshots get buried at L and L.

It's the kind of place Lucky would have chosen

But my sweet Jersey girl went slumming in Newark

This place is called Funeral, just Funeral, except half the neon sign is burned out so it says Fun

I laughed then Maxine laughed.

You know Gina, always out for a good time

So she's seeing this guy Martin

Martin from Fun?

Except he ain't no fun.

How's that?

He swears in front of the baby, calls Gina a bitch, and worse

Martin's a piece of work

I pictured the little girl who used to follow me around the neighborhood

The young lady I took dancing

A Girl who needed protected from her own bad choices

Maxine said, Luck was no treat either

I heard he had a gambling problem

Every time he lost he'd come begging me for money so he wouldn't go home empty-handed

Did Gina know this?

Of course not. I wanted to keep the peace.

She chose not to know

I said, he should have stuck to selling insurance

And play Willie Loman the rest of his life?

He wanted too much to be part of our life.

All due respect, Maxine, he wasn't cut out for our life

Well you couldn't tell Luck that.

I glanced at my watch. Is there anything I can do for you and Gina?

Don't be a stranger, Johnny. And I think Gina could use a friend even if she doesn't admit it.

I'll stop in and check on her.

excerptsfact or fictionheartbreaklove poemsperformance poetryslam poetrysocial commentarysurreal poetrysad poetry
1

About the Creator

David Parham

Writer, Filmmaker, Digital artist.

The ever Changing Complexities of Life, Fear, Mysteries and Capturing that which may not be there Tomorrow.

Complex, Change, Fear, Mystery, Tomorrow & Capture. Six reasons I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Natalia Grin2 years ago

    Captivating, engaging.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.